Skinny Fat

Skinny fat: “The medical term for this is “MONW,” or metabolically obese normal weight, which I prefer to refer to as being a skinny fat person. It means you are under lean but over fat — not enough muscle and too much fat (especially belly fat). It seems it is better to be fat and fit than thin and out of shape.” That’s an excerpt from an article the Huffington Post put out about this issue. 

Yes, it’s a thing. It’s a thing and I suffer from it every day.

 Here’s proof.

The following are pictures of me working out this morning. The first one is me in plank position- notice my core is tight, but most importantly you’ll see the angle of the camera is flattering at an angle looking up and that I’m wearing high-waisted leggings. I look thin, right, toned and curved in all the right places, right? 

Now look at the 2nd photo- you see a not so tight core and the leggings are now squeezing that extra loose skin up and out! 
IMG_0396IMG_0397

When I sit in a chair, I try to hold my core in and sit up straight like some girls, but I just can’t do it. I can’t. After a while it starts to strain my back. Plus, I like food so much and I get distracted by talking or the scenery usually, so I end up having rolls or even a full belly hanging over my pants.

Just take a look at the next photos. 

I’m sitting up straight, high waisted leggings to tuck it all in and the angle of the camera hides the fact that I’m slightly leaning back to elongate my core.

It’s not comfortable and it’s not how I sit all day every day and it kills me that girls think this is what we are supposed to look like at all times if we want a man to want us or for us to be considered pretty.

IT’S NOT! 

The 2nd one isn’t a very good example, but it’s a bit more relaxed and you can see there is a roll wanting to just breathe! Wanting to just escape the suffocation of one of my favorite pairs of leggings! Lol.

IMG_0366IMG_0381
Random fact: I used to have post-its on my walls and mirrors that said “God did not make a mistake when He made you.” and sometimes I have to remind myself of that even now when I am feeling the most confident I’ve ever felt; even after baby.

It kills me how society influences girls self-esteems these days. I’m sure some of you will read this and say to yourself “oh, please, you’re skinny, what do you know?”

You’re right. I don’t know the struggles of being heavier than 125 pounds, but don’t think for a second that “thin” girls don’t struggle with their own insecurities.

I tell my sister all the time how I wish I had her curves. She looks perfect. She’s a woman, she’s feminine, curvy and not a bony like me; I was given different genes and have long struggled with still not feeling skinny enough or curvy enough. I’m one of those stuck in between.

I’m only 5’4″ so any weight I put on is noticeable and usually goes to my stomach or face. Imagine having chicken legs, long bony arms, super long fingers and toes and a gut and chubby face. IT. LOOKS. AWKWARD. And doesn’t feel attractive. I only became very comfortable with my body after I had Simon.

Sometimes I think it’s because I felt the most beautiful when I was pregnant and saw how far my body can go so now anything less than that is GREAT to me haha Am I right or what?

Which is ironic considering my stomach is one of my least favorite body parts tied with my back.

I guess you could say that there really is no point to this post except to remind you of this..

1.) The struggle is real, ladies and gentlemen! For ALL OF US. So be kind to yourselves.

2.) If you were to meet someone that said they loved every single part of their body inside and outside- I’d call them a liar. No one does. (Unless you’re Kanye, but I believe he still struggles- hello, he had a meltdown?!)

3.) Someone somewhere is wishing they had a body or body part like yours. I know I wish I had my sister’s curves and nose and lips. She’s got the cute profile button nose and those lips are just so sexy. Women pay money for lips like hers. Not to mention her booty and boobs. But just like with everyone else, she hates how big they are because they cause pain.

4.) YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL! I have always found beauty in the broken, bended, mended and flawed. Find it in you. Love YOU. And always remember this…

5.) Most important: with anything, it takes time. I have ups and downs. I have bloated days and skinny days. I have ugly skin days and great skin days. It’s going to happen, and it’s normal. Accept it and yourself. Because you are the only person who matters most.

  • Did you know that on my skinny days, I feel like a whole new person so I gave myself a name for those days haha #Marisol
Leave a Reply

