Why say yes to sports?

I dated a guy one time… 

Haha if that tag line didn’t draw you in, I don’t know what else to say (shrug).

We had only been seeing each other for a short while and I had my son over at his house and his daughter was also there. We were talking about something and he mentioned how big Simon was. I replied with a half-kidding sarcastic response “yep, football player in the making”. He has the nerve to say (without hesitation) “well, that’s just because you focus his life on that stuff.”

(Insert moment of silence as I pause and take a deep breathe before reacting) 

I went on and asked what he meant in hopes I was misunderstanding what he was implying.

He says the same thing and follows it with “he’s a boy so you’re pushing him into that stuff”.

(Insert moment of silence as I pause and take a deep breathe before reacting)

I went on to ignore the comment. We aren’t together, if that’s what you’re wondering.

But, let me start by saying this… I will always push Simon to sports. Sports and things like martial arts can teach a child a number of things. Not only physically, but mentally and emotionally.

Growing up in a world as dark as ours, we need to teach the next generations how to make quick decisions, to know discipline, consequence, teamwork, respect, authority, to lose and most importantly acceptance. Sports can bring out skills that a child didn’t know they had. They can teach them to be motivated and how to not give up; boot camp could do the same, but where’s the fun in that?! Haha JK!! Chill!

These are all things I am profound believer in and sports is one of the best places to get that. Does that mean I’m “pushing” him towards that career? Not at all. It simply means that I’m doing my best to give him the necessary tools he needs to be a good man who isn’t lazy and entitled.

As his only parent it’s my job to show him his strengths and teach him to work on his weaknesses.

Even before I was pregnant I knew I wanted to be this type of parent. I still read to him, I still take him everywhere and introduce him to people, places, things, sounds and smells. Everyday’s an adventure with him and I will continue on this path. I encourage any other parent doubting what can come out of sports to reconsider.

Usually parents shy away from sports for fear of injury, but consider that the pros from sports are far greater if given the chance.

Leave a Reply

