Time Management

Although I am biased in saying this I am going to say it anyway…

full time single parents are the real superheroes.

You know why? Because we have to learn how to manage our time.

I’ve always been pretty organized and take pride in being EARLY to something (unless I just flake altogether). Since having Simon I have become one of those moms who is pushing herself through traffic because I’m late. Let me give you a glimpse into our weekday schedule.

  • 4:15AM- wake up call for cardio and light work out
  • 5:15AM- pack his lunch and bag for the day
  • 5:30AM- shower time for mom
  • 6:30AM- Simon’s wake up call
  • 6:45AM- out the door for the day
  • 8:00AM-4:00PM work day for mom
  • 5:30PM-7:30PM (Tuesday & Thursday)- class for mom
  • 6:30PM- dinner for Simon
  • 7:45PM- Simon’s bath time (8:00PM on school nights)
  • 8:00PM- story time and down for bed (8:30PM on school nights)
  • then it’s clean up time for mom and I’m lucky if I’m in bed by 9:30PM

Some nights I stay up getting stuff done (I sleep better with a clean house) and others I just get up earlier and do it. The weekends I try to use for “fun” and spending time with lil man. Some days I feel like a zombie, other days I feel like a rockstar, but every day I can’t imagine it any other way.

At some point along the way I see it in others– the ones who haven’t quite learned how to master the balance. I try to be understanding and try to help in any way possible… some of us just need to adjust on our own time by trial and error. (shoulder shrug).

People will say that I’m doing a great job and they aren’t sure how I do it and all I say is

                                (insert chuckle and replay in my head of all that I do) 

“thank you, I don’t know either, but women were MADE for this! If you are ever in doubt or feeling overwhelmed just know it is NORMAL and IT GETS BETTER!”

I was blessed with THE BEST support so if I ever need a break all I have to do is ask. This being said.. I have done research for things to do that allow the parents to take a break while the child is able to play.. refer to this previous post: FREE FUN

As far as “tips” to balancing work, school, mom life and home life while maintaining friendships and relationships:

  • Learn to let go of what you can’t control. Being a parent means getting used to constant changes and having to learn to live life in a spontaneous manner, so to say. Expect the unexpected and be as prepared as possible.
  • Lose the guilt. It’s easy to get lost in parenting and when it comes time for them to move off to college you are left feeling lost and alone. MAKE YOURSELF A PRIORITY TOO!
  • Allow yourself time to breathe when you feel overwhelmed- you gotta be on point and not an emotional mess for your child. Walk outside or go to the bathroom.
  • When it comes to relationships/friendships: make use of that smart phone and technology!
    • One of the only reasons I keep FB and IG is to stay in touch with people I don’t see often and to share our life with everyone that doesn’t get to see us.
    • Running around chasing Simon or cleaning or doing something active means no phone in hand and this is when my iWatch comes in as my favorite accessory!
    • The smartphone in general is one of the greatest inventions. We could be watching our child having a meltdown on the floor and still be communicating without having to excuse the noise in the background. 🙂
  • Call on your support. If you have it, reach out. And if you don’t, don’t be scared to ask someone you can count on to just come sit with your child while you get stuff done. At this point in our lives, I think it’s safe to say that our friends understand. If not, find new friends.
  • ^^ ASK FOR HELP!!!
  • Don’t lose yourself!

I truly hope this helps, at least, one person. If it doesn’t, email me and I will personally come sit and help you get that much needed break ;P

Leave a Reply

