Help Is There

After the shock set in that I was pregnant I started to ask questions on what help was available because I couldn’t do it on my own and I wasn’t about to ask his dad when he made it clear he didn’t want to be involved. I am blessed that I have the family I do. We stick together and we help each other as much as we can. No matter what it is! They were all willing to help, but my pride said “no, this is YOUR responsibility” so I began the hunt for programs, financial aid, etc.

This lead me to Medicaid & WIC. I was ashamed that I was even looking into it because there is such a stigma attached to those on it. I was 31, unemployed, pregnant, Mexican and beginning to sound like another statistic. Let me tell you what though… THANK GOD it is available!!!

I proceeded with the necessary steps and filed paperwork, did what I was supposed to do and found myself with a list of different Medicaid Insurances in which I chose the most obvious– Texas Children’s Health Plan. If you are looking into getting on a program, this would be the best place to start —> A List of all TX Benefits offered.

By the way… If you ever have a trauma with your child I recommend Memorial Hermann Children’s in the Medical Center, but for things not as bad I’d suggest taking your child to any Texas Children’s Urgent Care or ER. Memorial Hermann is worldly known for their trauma team while TXCH

I will sing praises to the TX Children’s Health Plan forever because it lead us to this program called the Nurse Family Partnership. Not everyone is able to be a part of it, but it’s there to apply to. We are no longer on Medicaid, but we still get our own Case Manager who comes to visit us at home. She came once a week when I was pregnant and bi-weekly since Simon has been born. It is aimed at first time moms who have no clue what is available or how to care for a child. I recommend anyone reading this to look into it if you are pregnant or may become pregnant.

Always remember this when applying… ASK QUESTIONS! These people are there to help. They WANT to help! Do not fear being denied. There is something for everyone. Different benefits for different incomes & situations. You can also reach out to me and I can help as much as I can.

 

Leave a Reply

